New committee 2015/16

New committee 2015/16

Loish Daish

Lois Daish

After eight busy years on the committee of the Friends of Te Papa, Gordon Shroff retired as President at the AGM on 25 June 2015. Gordon was elected to the committee in 2007, to the role of Vice-President in 2009 and to that of President in 2012.

Gordon’s skills, enthusiasm and commitment have been much valued. His outgoing personality and capacity for suggesting interesting and enjoyable member events proved a big asset. One of Gordon’s important roles was organising Friends’ away tours. His careful research and planning ensured that all were a great success. He has contributed greatly to the ongoing strength of the Friends.

Committee members Jeannie Buxton and Lois Daish also retired after making a considerable contribution to the work of the Friends.

Jeannie joined the committee in 2010 and took on the role of liaising with volunteers.  Since 2010 Te Papa has had eight major exhibitions, three of them in one year.  Jeannie had a very busy five years coordinating the many volunteers needed for front-of-house membership promotions, gift-wrapping at special shopping nights and helping with phone follow-ups. Through these efforts the Friends gained 1200 new memberships.

Lois also joined the committee in 2010.  Her writing skills and expertise have been highly valued by the Friends. We are delighted that she has agreed to be co-opted back onto the committee to provide editorial assistance for a further year.

Election of officers:
Elizabeth Kay was elected as President and Jillian Wellings as Vice-President.

The committee for the 2015/16 year is:

President – Elizabeth Kay, Vice-President – Jillian Wellings, Treasurer – Graeme Mitchell

Committee – Jan Blayney, Jenny Campbell, Lois Daish, Gillian Green, Diana Halsted, Ann Hodson, Heather Macfarlane, Adrienne Olsen, Sheryn Shackleton, John Stevens and Carla Wild