Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Annual General Meeting 2016

Thursday 30 June 2016, 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Free to attend. Members only. Free parking.

The Annual General Meeting of the Friends of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Inc will be held Thursday 30 June at 6pm in Icon, Level 2, Te Papa.

A glass of wine will be offered from 5.30pm and at 6pm Chief Executive Rick Ellis will speak on the Museum Renewal programme at Te Papa, followed by formal business.


  1. Apologies
  2. Confirmation of Minutes
    Minutes of the AGM, 25 June 2015.
    Minutes of the meeting will be available at the AGM and members will be given time to read them.
  3. Annual Report
  4. Financial Statements and Auditor’s Report for the year ended 31 March 2016.
  5. Constitution
    To adopt the following resolutions:
    Executive Committee: That the rule 6.1 be amended to remove the words “three (3)” and to replace the removed words with the words “four (4); then to add the words “a Secretary” after the words “a Treasurer:; and to remove the words “six (6) Ordinary members” and replace them with the words “up to 10 Ordinary committee members”: to read:
    6.1       The Executive Committee shall comprise four (4) Officers, namely a President, a Vice President, a Treasurer, a Secretary and up to ten (10) Ordinary committee members.  They shall be elected at an Annual General Meeting of the Society by Financial Members in accordance with the clauses below. The Executive Committee shall have the power to co-opt to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee; to co-opt such additional members from time to time as are necessary for the conduct of the affairs of the Society; to make appointments to special committees.

Explanation: – The Secretary is normally an officer of a committee. Greatly increased workload of Committee and Friends office is behind the wish to increase the number of Committee. An increase will also enable the committee to meet the Constitutional requirement that 2 ordinary members step down at each AGM without detrimental effect on the work.

  1. Election of Officers and Committee:
    Adrienne Olsen and John Stevens retire by rotation and being eligible offer themselves for re-election. Elections are therefore required for three vacancies on the Committee.
    Nominations to the Committee have been received for Jenny Campbell, Sheryn Shackleton and Carla Wild, co-opted committee members last year.
  2. To confirm the appointment of Accounting For Charities Trust as Auditor.
  3. To confirm the appointment of Honorary Solicitor for the current year.
  4. General Business
Meeting papers:
Agenda (1 page)
Performance Report (12 pages)
Independent Auditor’s Report (2 pages)

Feature image: Photographer Michael Hall, ©Te Papa


Thursday 30 June 2016
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Free to attend. Members only. Free parking.
Event Category: